There are days when there is only 1 thing I know for certain and that is that the sun will rise in the morning. The silence of the dark night will soon pass. Even as sure as it sounds, after copious amounts of cocaine, alcohol, and whatever else seemed like a good idea at the time, I often found myself lying sick on the bathroom floor fully convinced that I was going to be stuck in that moment forever. I would do my best to squint just right so that the numbers on my cell phone would stop moving and unscramble into something that resembled a time, so I could reassure myself that the minutes were still passing and that I, indeed, was still surviving this nightmare. The sun will rise in the morning; with or without you. I see this as a comfort and a curse. I often think to myself that if I just passed quietly, painlessly in my sleep I would finally be at peace, but I am reminded every morning with the reflecting glare of the sun peering through my window blinds that indeed I am still alive. I take comfort in knowing that there is, and has always been, ONE consistency in my life. Time. Time is the only thing that is created equal among men. Every being has 24 hours in a day, 10,080 minutes in a week, and 31,556,926 seconds in a year. No more, no less for any one person. Time is the only thing I can rely on. The sun will rise in the morning; wish or without me.

Leave a Reply

